The lovely Mazandaran

A typical jungle scene in Mazandaran - Iran

Iran is beautiful; there is no doubt about it. But with such non-democratic non-modern government and political structure, many people in the world have a bad mental background about Iran and Iranians. Last week I had a great 3 day trip with my classmates to Mazandaran (From our university located in Tehran) , in north of Iran. I decided to write a little about the place (Mazandaran) and publish some photos I took.

Where is Mazandaran?

Mazandaran is located north of Iran, between Alborz Mountains and Khazar (Caspian) sea. Because of its narrow width and locating between sea and mountains, the humidity is very high and its soil is very great for farming. There also so many rivers located in the province. The space between seashore and jungles in some part of this area is less than a kilometer. Mazandaran is one of the most internal touristy poles in Iran.

I am from Sari, the capital of Mazandaran Province, so this trip was not an exact trip for me, because I’d seen these places so many time before, but going there with friends from other parts of Iran (which are usually dry) proved me that Mazandaran is really beautiful. Then I decided to publish some photos and let people from other countries see the beautiful Mazandaran!

Please mention that these pictures were taken in autumn with a Mobile VGA Camera.

Roads

Here are two pictures from a road in Mazandaran. (It’s an entrance road somewhere near “SavadKuh�?)

051214_131516.jpg051214_131459.jpg

Seashore

Khazar is the world’s biggest lake and people usually name it Sea, Some pictures from “Farah Abaad�? seashore (30km south of Sari), Taken early morning (except one).

051216_074459.jpg051216_074446.jpg051216_074511.jpgDCP_0016.jpgDCP_0028.jpg

Jungle in autumn

These are some beautiful pictures from “Shahid Zare’�? Jungle Park (3km east of Sari). I love this place because my school was somewhere near the park and I studied 7 years there!

051215_132201.jpg051215_132217.jpg051215_132231.jpg051215_133115.jpgdcp_0044.jpg

“Soleyman Tange�? Dam

40km south of Sari, There is a Dam on “Tajan�? river surrounded with beautiful jungles. This place has a great view over the valley.

051215_112754.jpg051215_111842.jpg051215_111016.jpg051215_111128.jpg051215_111352.jpg051215_111731.jpg051215_111752.jpg051215_112812.jpg

“Abbas Abaad�?

The last place we visit was “Abbas Abaad�? Jungle Park in Behshahr (55km east of Sari). This place is famous because of a special historical buildings founded by “Shah Abbas Safavi�? –The Persian King- more than 200 years ago. The building is located inside an artificial lake. We had a great lunch program there with lots of fun.

051216_105233.jpg051216_105319.jpg051216_105413.jpg051216_111946.jpg051216_112002.jpg051216_112040.jpg051216_112056.jpg051216_162517.jpg

This trip had a great effect on me, I wrote about it before in my Persian Weblog.

I am really interested to know your comments if you are not Iranian, What do you think about the place? What do you think now about Iran?

Updated (January 2009): Mazandaran in Autumn, Pictures from Mazandaran in Autumn, a great photo set  prepared by my friend, Nima.

51 thoughts on “The lovely Mazandaran”

  1. These photos are really great. I only which you could have taken them with a better camera. 🙂

    I can’t say much about the Iranian people since I don’t know them, but I have no reason to think they aren’t a great people. What I think of Iran is what I think about most countries in the world: people suffers the politics and its conflicts.

  2. Hi,
    Its like as if I went to Iran. Gud one! Photos added more beauty to the blog but would have been still more beautiful if photos were really clear. I had a total different view about Iran, kind of desserted, ruined place. But you blog made me to see Iran in a different angle. Keep writing!

    Have a nice day,
    Ponnarasi.

  3. The biggest problem this world faces is man’s inhumanity toward man by using religion as a weapon against each other.

    Islam, Christianity, Judaism, Buddism, etc… there are nothing wrong with these religious teachings. When we take our perversions of these ideals and try and force them upon others, that is where the problem happens.

    Anyway, I’m sure the Iranian people are quite beautiful, and the local area certainly seems it too! Maybe one day, things will change, and we can all finally get along.

    Peace and love!
    Trae

  4. Thanks for the lovely comment on my blog! Your photos are beautiful… you know, they’re the first lot of pictures of Iran I’ve seen which weren’t to do with politics/war. Thanks for showing me a different side of Iran.

    Peace.

  5. Dear Mani.
    My wife and I lived in Behshahr 2 years (1963-64) while I was supervising the construction of a new road between Behshahr and Kurd-kui. The construction company was Avadje and the supervising company was Kampsax (a Danish company). We very often went to the Abbas Abaad lake for picnics, a beautiful place, but difficult to reach by car at that time, as the road up there was in a very bad condition. The house we rented in Behshahr was at Khiabon Forutqah.
    We lived for 5 years in Iran as I too was supervising road construction in the Haraz Valley and in Kurdestan (Sanandadj), and we had a wonderful time and many experiences.
    Thanks for the pictures.

  6. Dear Mani,
    I really enjoyed what I can see in Iran by myself.However, I tried very hard to find something about the history of Mazandaran, but believe it or not, I couldn’t.
    I hope one day one true patriot will launch a site to informe people about this very important issue.
    Thanks a million, Furious in Babol.

  7. Dear Mani,
    I really enjoyed what I can see in Iran by myself.However, I tried very hard to find something about the history of Mazandaran, but believe it or not, I couldn’t.
    I hope one day one true patriot will launch a site to inform people about this very important issue.
    Thanks a million, Furious in Babol.

  8. I lived near Behshar for almost three years back in the 1970s. I loved the country and the people. Many very fond memories. Thanks for the pictures and write-up. I’ve been to many of the places shown. Hopefully the political situation will improve over time and traveling will be easier.

  9. Dear friend,

    I suppose it was so smart a way to introduce the good side of Persia to people who just have heard about the dog side of Iran. I really appreciate it. By the way it must be more effective if you could present something on the people or society. Indeed you can find jungles and natural beauties whereever you wish on the earth, but the only (I emphsize, the only thing) that make us different is our culture and heritages. You may try it the next time.

    Good luck
    Mehdi,

  10. Here is an excellent link to images of IRAN you never see on the USA news propaganda media oulets:

    http://www.lucasgray.com/video/peacetrain.html

    Iran and it’s people, like Americans enjoy life & the pursuit of happiness. We are all the same. We have been spoonfed by the media that the muslims and Islamic world are barbaric, but that is so far from the truth. I get the feeling IRAQ is the same as IRAN. Enjoy the PEACE TRAIN video. It will open your mind & bring a realization that people all over the world are good, it’s the politicians that are demonic. TRUTH JAH…………….

    ROB

  11. Dear Mani.

    Iran is so beautifull and unfortunatly no body knows! Thanks for all your tryinig to introducing the nice beautifull Mazandaran. Congratulations! It seems to be a good idea from you. I really enjoy it because i come from sari…

    Tell me how can i help you with pics or any other informations, please. I really get happy if.

    So hope you have better pics and more viewers!!!
    Good luck.
    zoha.

  12. Your blog is very nice and i hope the govermental men think like you some day .thinking about IRAN insted of lebonan ,syria,palestine ,venezoela,bolivi,goatemala,senegal,….

    it is clear potentially iran is a special country ( nature , historical place , industry ,mins, human resource wich we lost them about 180000 per year because of immigration ,…. ) which with proper managment and investment can take much more money than its petrolium .

    REGARDS

  13. I am an Indian, and know little about Iran.
    What I heard about is Iran and Iranians is similar to what I feel about India and Indians. The only difference is the religion and the government.
    If possible please send me more photographs of cities of Iran.
    Thank you
    Sateesh.

  14. I am seventeen and I live in iran. all over the world recognized iran by killing and war but I my self I have never heard a shot or war but I approve that iran is not modern country but it has lovely people and beautiful land

  15. Really beautiful. The world is a beautiful place, and there really isn’t a country in the world that doesn’t have it’s own beauty about it. Unfortunately, movies, TV and some word-of-mouth has given some countries a worse reputation than it deserves. Political issues can really mess up the image of a country, so people think that the place is harsh and dirty everywhere etc. Hope that someday we can bring things together.

  16. Pingback: michael dalton
  17. Hi
    You are doing the best thing that an Iranian can do. Im an Iranian too and Im proud of you and others that do like you. And I beg the foreigner to change their mind about our dear country.
    THANKS A LOT
    GOOD LUCK.
    BYE.

  18. hello
    most of the countries had been under control of persia ,and persian people are not just the people that live in iran , azrbayjan had been seperated from iran 150 years ago in a treaty between iran and russia.

  19. I’ve always been fascinated about Iran. I want to go there so desperately. Western media is unable to capture this amazing side to the country. That’s what the pity is. Thanks for the lovely post and photos!

Leave a Reply

